Nursing Resources

Drake Library has multiple databases to assist you with your research. Databases are available by logging into the OKWU Student Portal and selecting the "All Apps" link. For a description of the databases visit the Drake Library Webpage and scroll to the bottom of the page. The primary nursing databases are:

• A to Z for general information about countries, food, culture, and more. 
• Credo Reference contains reference eBooks that are broken down into individual topics.
• Encyclopedia Britannica is a great general information resource.
• EBSCO is a package of multiple databases including articles and eBooks. For nursing, we recommend the following: Academic Search, Health Source Nursing/Academic ed., CINAHL Complete, and for eBooks, EBSCO's Book Academic Collection. Several of the business databases may be good options to consider if exploring nursing management and leadership articles. 
• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global contains dissertations & theses. 

See the links for more details for each database.

The Janice and Charles Drake Library has over 50,000 in print books. Most books are available for a 30 day checkout. We are able to ship books to students and faculty upon request. The only cost is for return shipping. 

To request a book to be sent to your address do the following: 

• Look up item in the catalog
• On the left side of the screen locate the link "Email this Item"
• Send the link to circ@okwu.edu
• Include your name, address, school email, and phone number
• The book will be shipped to your address. The only fee is the cost to return the book. 

Drake Library subscribes to the EBSCO Academic eBook collection, which houses over 100,000 eBooks. To access the eBook collections log into the student portal and locate the Library link. Select the EBSCO database link.  Topics include the following and many more:

• Critical Care Nursing
• Spirituality and Nursing
• Pain Management
• Nursing Leadership
• Geriatric Nursing
• Pediatric Care
• Women's Health
• Nursing Research